In 1871, the grand Western Railway line through Palmerston was completed. Although the railway helped the local economy, the expansion of the rail yard through Queen Street posed a serious threat to pedestrians. To ensure public safety, the Railway Commission of Canada ordered the town to close Queen Street and in 1911 the Grand Trunk built a 700' steel pedestrian bridge over the yard. The yard closed, and in 1998 the town purchased the site.
Built in 1879: Original home of William Caldwell.
Dr. John FtizGerald (1882-1940) was born in Drayton, Ontario. In 1891 his family moved to Harriston and occupied 88 John Street South from 1894 to 1902.
Reverend john Smithurst was ordained by the Church of England in 1939 and served as a missionary to the aboriginal people at the Red River Settlements in Manitoba for twelve years. He settled in the Township of Minto in 1852 when he was appointed Rector of St. John's Anglican church in Elora, Ontario.
Built in 1882: Original home of Alexander Wyness.
Rooster’s Perch Antiques is an antique and collectible shop in downtown Clifford. A wide variety of furnishings, glassware, china, clocks, toys, games and memorabilia can be found there.
Built in 1888: Original home of George Fulton.
Located on the top floor of the Harriston Library, the Minto Heritage Gallery exhibits local art and other collections throughout the year. It is entirely non-profit and run by the Minto Arts Council, whose members make up many of the gallery’s volunteers and promoters. The gallery has been a showcase of local talent and expression since 1997.
Built in 1880: Original home of Oliver Johnston.
Centered in the Palmerston Lions Heritage Park, the Pool and Splash Pad feature a variety of swimming programs and private lessons. It is open during summer only.
Built in 1879: Original home of Alexander Doig.
The Kinsmen Pool is situated on the corner of Raglan and Queen street in Harriston. During the summer it offers swimming lessons, aqua-fit programs and lifeguarding classes.
Built in 1877: Original home of Dr. Samuel M. Henry.
Built in 1895: Original home of James Moore.
Nestled in Harriston’s downtown, Tannery Park lies directly over top of the Maitland River. Its features include a historic mural, flower beds, and a grass-lined path at the rear of the park.
Built in 1894: Original home of J.M. McKay.
Wesley Bates is an artist and wood engraver whose work is nationally renowned. He owns the Wesley Bates Gallery and West Meadow Press in Clifford. He also works closely with the Minto Arts Council and other community organizations.
Run by Wesley Bates, West Meadow Press is a small print shop featuring multiple letterpresses. Adjacent to the Wesley Bates Gallery, it provides a street-side view of an artist at work.
Built in 1879: Original home of Nathan Fallis.
Built in 1888: Original home of Mark Nicholson.
Built in 1879: Original home of Richard & Ann Dowling.
The Kinsmen Park is located on Raglan Street, nestled between the Kinsmen Pool and the Maitland River. Its playground and the large shade trees surrounding the park are its distinguishing characteristics.
The Minto Dance Academy is a dance studio located in the rear of the Town Hall Theatre. Jazz, tap, ballet, highland and hip hop classes are available.
Built in 1883: Original home of Hugh Gordon.